أهلاً بالبطاريق!

دبي أكواريوم وحديقة الحيوانات المائية يستقبل 16 بطريق جَنتو في “ساحل البطاريق” المصمّم بأعلى المعايير الحديثة

 

الإمارات العربية المتحدة، دبي، 16 يوليو 2020: كشف دبي أكواريوم وحديقة الحيوانات المائية عن معرضه الجديد “ساحل البطاريق” الذي يستقبل مجموعة مكونّة من 16 طائراً من طيور البطريق جَنتو، وهي من الفصائل التي تنتمي إلى القارة القطبية الجنوبية، حيث ينقل “ساحل البطاريق” الزائرين إلى أقصى القارة الجنوبية لإلقاء نظرة عن كثب إلى هذه الطيور المذهلة.

بطاريق جَنتو التي انتقلت إلى دبي أكواريوم وحديقة الحيوانات المائية تأتي من منشأة في الولايات المتحدة الأميركية، إلا أن موطنها الطبيعي يقع في محيط شبه جزيرة أنتاركتيكا وجزر القطب الجنوبي. ويحاكي معرض “ساحل البطاريق” المصمّم وفقاً لأحدث المعايير بيئتها الطبيعية من خلال التحكّم في درجة الحرارة لتشابه المناخ شبه القطبي الذي تألفه بطاريق جنتو،  مع الحفاظ على درجة حرارة الهواء بين 2 و 4 درجات مئوية ودرجة حرارة الماء بين 5 و 7 درجات. كما تمّ إنشاء نظام خاص لمحاكاة دورة الإضاءة السنوية في نصف الكرة الجنوبي. المعرض متعدّد المستويات وفيه الكثير من المناطق المثيرة لطيور البطريق للتسلّق والاستكشاف، بما في ذلك الانزلاق إلى المسبح.

عام 2010، كان دبي أكواريوم وحديقة الحيوانات المائية في دبي مول أوّل مرفق في المنطقة لاستقدام طيور البطريق جَنتو. واليوم تعود تلك الطيور الرائعة من خلال معرض فائق الحداثة ولقاء سيعزّز تجربة الزوّار بما يشكّل معياراً جديداً في هذا القطاع.

ستكون زيارة “ساحل البطاريق” ضمن جولة الحضانة المائية وحزمة “المستكشف” وتذاكر تجارب كبار الشخصيات، وذلك كخطوة أولى تسبق إطلاق تجربة “لقاء البطاريق” في أوائل أغسطس. هذا اللقاء الغامر المرتقب سيتيح للضيوف الدخول إلى معرض “ساحل البطاريق” والتواجد وجهاً لوجه مع مجموعة بطاريق جنتو للتعرّف على سلوكياتها الطبيعية والاستمتاع بحركاتها الرائعة.

طيور البطريق جَنتو هي حيوانات اجتماعية معروفة بأنها تعيش ضمن جماعات في مستوطنات وغالباً ما تتزاوج مدى الحياة من شريك واحد. فضول هذه الطيور الطبيعي وسلوكها الفريد من نوعه يجعلها أكثر إمتاعاً للجمهور. ومع أن أجنحتها لا تمكّنها من الطيران، إلا أنها تستخدمها كزعانف تسمح لها بالانسياب برشاقة تحت الماء، لتصل إلى عمق أكثر من 600 قدم وسرعة 22 ميلاً في الساعة، أي أسرع من أي طائر غوّاص آخر. يمكنها كذلك الوصول إلى أعماق تصل حتى 200 متر عند سعيها لصيد الأسماك الصغيرة وجراد البحر والحبّار. يمكنها كذلك أن تبقى تحت الماء لمدّة تصل إلى سبع دقائق.

 

بطريق جَنتو هو واحد من 18 نوعاً من طيور البطريق على الكرة الأرضية، ويمكن أن يصل طوله إلى 90 سنتم ووزنه حوالي 6 كلغ. يمتاز هذا البطريق باللون الوردي تحت جناحيه ومنقاره البرتقالي، ويعتبر عادة من أكثر طيور البطريق جاذبية ومرحاً.

يشتهر دبي أكواريوم وحديقة الحيوانات المائية بواحد من أكبر أحواض السمك وأكثرها تنوّعاً في العالم، حيث يضمّ أكثر من 33000 حيوان مائي، وأكبر لوحة مشاهدة أكريليك في العالم، وخزّان سعة عشرة ملايين لتر (أكبر خزّان مائي معلّق في العالم).

ومن بين الأنشطة التي تقدّم تجربة تفاعلية لزوّار دبي أكواريوم وحديقة الحيوانات المائية، تجربة نفق يتيح رؤية على محيط 270 درجة، وركوب القارب ذي القعر الزجاجي، والغوص مع القرش، وتجربة الغطس بالقفص، وبرنامج مدرسة المحيط، وغيرها.

حديقة الحيوانات المائية تقع في الطابق 2 فوق حوض السمك الرئيسي، وتقدّم التنوّع البيولوجي في مناطق بيئية مختلفة بما في ذلك “الغابة المطيرة”، و”الشطآن الصخرية”، و”المحيط الحيّ”. وإلى جانب ملك وملكة التماسيح، تمساحا المياه العذبة العملاقان، فإن الحيوانات المعروضة هنا تشمل أسماك البيرانا، وطيور الماكاو، وسمك السلّور، وسمك المهرّج، وثعالب الماء.

* زيارة “ساحل البطاريق” هي حالياً ضمن باقات التذاكر العادية بدءاً من 120 درهماً إماراتياً للشخص الواحد. تفضّلوا بزيارة موقع thedubaiaquarium.com لشراء التذاكر والاطلاع على مزيد من المعلومات.

 

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed

Chill Out with the Penguins!

Dubai Aquarium & Underwater Zoo Welcomes 16 Antarctic Gentoo Penguins to its State-of-the-Art “Penguin Cove”

United Arab Emirates, Dubai, July 16, 2020: Dubai Aquarium & Underwater Zoo has unveiled its brand new exhibit: “Penguin Cove”. With its colony of 16 Gentoo penguins, a species native to Antarctica, Penguin Cove transports guests to the southernmost continent for an up-close look at the incredible birds.,

The Dubai Aquarium & Underwater Zoo Gentoo penguins come from a facility in the USA. However, they can be found in their natural habitat around the Antarctic Peninsula and surrounding Subantarctic islands. The purpose-built temperature controlled exhibit “Penguin Cove” simulates the natural Sub Antarctican environment of the Gentoo Penguins with a controlled air temperature between 2 and 4 degrees Celsius and a water temperature between 5 and 7 degrees Celsius. Additionally, a special system was also created to mimic their annual lighting cycle in the southern hemisphere. The exhibit is multi-levelled and has lots of exciting areas for the penguins to climb on and explore, including a slide into the pool.

 

In 2010, Dubai Aquarium & Underwater Zoo was the first facility in the region to introduce Gentoo penguins. The flightless charismatic birds are brought back today through an ultra-modern exhibit and an encounter that will enhance the visitors experience like no other, thus setting a new benchmark.

 

A visit to the “Penguin Cove” will be part of the Aqua Nursery, Explorer package and VIP Experiences tickets as a first step until the launch of the “Penguin Encounter” by early August. The all-new immersive encounter allows guests to step inside the Penguin Cove habitat and go face-to-feather with the colony of live Gentoo penguins while learning about their fascinating natural behaviours.

 

Gentoo penguins are social animals known for living in colonies and often mating for life. The birds’ natural curiosity and unique behaviour make them a natural crowd-pleaser. While the flightless birds aren’t nimble on land, their wings serve as fins allowing them to glide gracefully underwater, reaching depths of more than 200 m and speeds of 36 km/h, faster than any other diving bird. They can reach diving depths of up to 200 m when hunting for small fish, krill and squid. They can also remain underwater for up to seven minutes.

One of 18 penguin species on Earth, Gentoos can grow to be 90 cm tall and weigh about 6 kg. Featuring pink colouration under their wings, they are commonly cited as among the most charismatic of penguins.

Dubai Aquarium & Underwater Zoo is one of the largest and most diverse aquariums in the world, featuring over 33,000 aquatic animals, the world’s largest acrylic viewing panel, and a ten-million-litre tank (the largest suspended aquarium tank in the world). New species are regularly added with recent additions being the exquisite Sawfish and Sandbar sharks

A 270-degree walk-through tunnel experience, Glass Bottom Boat Rides, Shark Dives, Cage Snorkeling Experience, The Ocean School Programme and the Aquarist Programme are amongst some of the activities that offers an interactive experience for visitors to Dubai Aquarium & Underwater Zoo.

Underwater Zoo, located on Level 2 above the main Aquarium presents the bio-diversity in different ecological zones including Rainforest, Rocky Shore and Living Ocean. Apart from the famous King and Queen, the giant crocs, the animals featured here include Piranhas, Macaws, Water Rats, Giant Catfish, Clownfish and Otters.

*The “Penguin Cove” visit is currently part of the standard ticket packages starting at AED 120 per person. Visit thedubaiaquarium.com for tickets and more information.

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed

North - responsive WooCommerce Theme

 

For Media, advertisement & events query contact us on sharmine.khan@starzmediainc.com / manju.ramanan@starzmediainc.com

FOLLOW US ON

North - responsive WooCommerce Theme