The Highlights of the 67th National Film Awards

The winners of the 67th National Film Awards were announced on Monday honoring the industry’s best talent for the year 2019. The award ceremony was initially going to be held in May last year but was delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. A total of 461 feature films, 220 non-feature films, 25 books on cinema, 12 film critics, and 13 film-friendly states competed for the awards this year.

The Sushant Singh Rajput starrer ‘Chhichhore’ won the best movie award while Kangana Ranaut and Manoj Bajpayee took home the best actress and best actor award.

See the source image
Here are the highlights from the winners:

Most film-friendly state: Sikkim
Best Book on Cinema: A Gandhian Affair: India’s Curious Portrayal of Love in Cinema, by Sanjay Suri
Best Film Critic: Sohini Chattopadhyay

Feature Film Awards
Best Feature Film: Marakkar: Lion of the Arabian Sea (Malayalam)
Best Actor (shared): Manoj Bajpayee for Bhonsle (Hindi), and Dhanush for Asuran (Tamil)
Best Actress: Kangana Ranaut for Panga (Hindi) and Manikarnika: The Queen of Jhansi (Hindi)

Best Supporting Actor: Vijay Sethupathi for Super Deluxe (Tamil)
Best Director: Sanjay Puran Singh Chauhan for Bahattar Hoorain (Hindi)
Best Debut Film of a Director: Mathukutty Xavier for Helen (Malayalam)
Best Lyrics: Prabha Varma for Kolaambi (Malayalam)

Best Music Direction: D. Imman for Viswasam (Tamil)
Best Background Music: Prabuddha Banerjee for Jyeshthoputro (Bengali)
Best Screenplay (Original): Jyeshthoputro (Bengali), Kaushik Ganguly

Best Cinematography: Jallikattu (Malayalam), Gireesh Gangadharan
Best Editing: Jersey (Telugu), Navin Nooli
Best Screenplay (Adapted): Gumnaami (Bengali), Srijit Mukherji
Best Screenplay (Dialogue Writer): The Tashkent Files (Hindi), Vivek Ranjan Agnihotri


Non-Feature Film Awards:

Best Music Direction: Bishakhjyoti for Kranti Darshi Guruji – Ahead of Times (Hindi)
Best Editing: Arjun Gourisaria for Shut Up Sona (Hindi/ English)
Best Cinematography: Savita Singh for Sonsi (Hindi)

Best Direction: Sudhanshu Saria for Knock Knock Knock (English/ Bengali)
Best Short Fiction Film: Custody (Hindi/ English)
Best Animation Film: Radha (Musical)

Best Investigative Film: Jakkal (Marathi)
Best Exploration Film: Wild Karnataka (English)
Best Educational Film: Apples and Oranges (English)

Best Film on Social Issues: Holy Rights (Hindi) and Ladli (Hindi)
Best Environment Film: The Stork Saviours (Hindi)
Best Promotional Film: The Shower (Hindi)

Best Arts and Culture Film: Shrikshetra-Ru-Sahijata (Odia)
Best Biographical Film: Elephants Do Remember (English)
Best Debut Non-Feature Film of a Director: Raj Pritam More for Khisa (Marathi)
Best Non-Feature Film: An Engineered Dream (Hindi)

(Contributed by Nikhita H.)


For Media, advertisement & events query contact us on mayur.panchal@starzmediainc.com / aakanksha.naval@starzmediainc.com